Storing Blackboard Content

Blackboard offers three ways to store and retrieve your information:

Course Copy – this is the one you use to prepare for future offerings of the same course.
Export and Import is a great way to retain key content for future purposes. Student data is not included.
Archive – this is a great way to personally backup your courses. This method saves everything, including all student data (including grades, etc.)

Course Copy

Course copy allows you to transfer all your existing courseware to your next offering of the same course.

IMPORTANT!

You must be in the course that contains your course content. You will copy this information from the OLD course to the NEW course (if you do this backwards, you will have two empty courses!)

1.  The course copy tool can be found under “Packages and Utilities” in the Course Management menu:

Course Copy

2.  Selecting “Course Copy” opens a new window. Leave “Select Copy Type” in its default position. Browse for the Destination Course ID (Remember – this is the course that will receive content from this course.) Now choose “Select All” – you can uncheck those areas you don’t need (until you are familiar with Blackboard, copying everything is probably best.

select copy type3.  If you use Discussion Boards, you should decide whether or not you wish to retain the Starter Posts:

discussion board

4.  Leave 3. File Attachments as is. It is a good idea to check your course size. If it is large (>100MB), contact CTL for advice on shrinking the size. If it is over 250MB the copy will not launch.

 Click “Calculate Size”:

file attachment

The size of the package will appear:

package size

Click on Package Contents to reveal the size of each component. You can sort by size to see which elements are largest.

file sizes

  1. Leave 4. Enrollments unchecked since you don’t want existing student data in your new course.
  2. Click “Submit.”

The screen will close and a “Success Message” will appear. You will receive an email when the process is complete.

packages and utilities
Back to Top

Exporting Key Content

Exporting and Archiving courses are both launched from the same tool under “Packages and Utilities” in the Course Management menu.

export:archive course1.  This will open a new page where you choose either “Export Package” or “Archive Course” The other tab “Export Common Cartridge Tab” allows you to save your content so it can be opened up by other systems.

2.  Select Export Package

export:archive

3.  Decide on how you wish to connect File Attachments (just the links or the content as well.) Check the size.

4.  Select the relevant content and click “Submit.”

5.  The current page will close. A success message will appear at the top of the page.

6.  You will see your export file in this window.

exportfile

  1. Click on it to download to your computer. You may wish to save this to an external flash drive.
  2. Once you have safely saved the .zip file, delete the file from Blackboard (these files take up a great deal of unnecessary space on the server.)

delete

Archive

  1. Archiving your course is almost identical to Exporting except you are making a complete copy of the course. The only decision is whether or not to include Grade Center data.
  2. Once you have completed archiving your course and saved it externally, please delete the original .zip file in Blackboard. Back to Top